Restaurant Guide to Different Diets

Restaurant Guide to Different Diets

We don’t all eat the same foods; sometimes it’s a dietary restriction while other times it’s a personal choice. Many restaurants accommodate to a few certain diets while others only sell dishes from a specific diet. If you’re looking to explore your options for your menu or are simply curious as to what different kinds of diets there are, let the following be your guide.



The vegetarian diet is based around eating fruits, vegetables, beans, grains, seeds, and nuts. There are other diets that fall into the vegetarian spectrum, such as lactovegetarian, ovo-lactovegetarian and semi-vegetarian. A lactovegetarian diet consists of plant-based foods as well as dairy products. An ovo-lactovegetarian diet consists of plant-based foods as well as eggs. A semi-vegetarian diet consists of plant-based foods as well as white meat, fish, dairy products, and eggs.



The vegan diet steers clear of the consumption of animals and anything that comes from an animal, including milk and eggs. This diet can be difficult to accommodate to because it’s based around consuming foods that come from the Earth, excluding animals. While some people have adopted this lifestyle as a means to get healthier, many have taken on veganism as an environmental choice towards saving animals. Some popular substitutes for regular cow’s milk are almond, rice, and soy milk. A replacement for eggs could be flax meal, chia seeds, tofu, banana, or your classic egg replacer mix.



The paleotarian diet is the “hunter-gatherer” diet; consisting of meat, fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds. To get a better visual on this lifestyle, a person would consume only what was accessible for our hunter-gatherer ancestors. Grains, starches, dairy, alcohol, and processed food would be excluded. Studies have shown that this diet can lower the risk of diabetes. This diet has become a modern trend, as a means to cut out carbs and processed foods from daily intake.



The pollotarian diet is based around not eating animals with red meat. Some examples of red meat are beef, pork, lamb, veal, and duck. White meat such as chicken, turkey, and poultry would be consumed. Depending on the person, seafood, dairy products, and other alternatives may or may not be added to the diet. While some people may simply not like the taste of red meat, others believe red meat to be unhealthy for humans to consume. Exceptions could be made if the red-meat animals are grass-fed, raised organically, and not given hormones.



The pescatarian diet is based around eating not eating any animals, except for seafood. This includes crab, lobster, salmon, tuna, butterfish, fish eggs and more. It can be hard to get protein when you don’t eat red or white animal meat. Before someone reaches for the protein supplements, they could look into getting said protein from seafood and shellfish. Many varieties of fish have the protein one might be looking for, as well as healthy oils and fats.



The flexitarian diet might seem similar to the semi-vegetarian diet when you examine the two. The diet is based around eating mostly plant-based foods and rarely meat. Committing to a strictly vegetarian lifestyle can be difficult for some, so this diet allows the person to consume meat products on occasion. This diet could be described as controversial, as some believe that a person is either an herbivore or an omnivore. This debate comes in to play when environmental or animal issues are brought up.



The fruitarian diet is exactly how it sounds; consisting of eating fruits all or majority of the time, with the exception of nuts and seeds. Excluding veganism, this diet is probably the most restrictive. It’s not common, but the diet is adopted for a few reasons; to detox, to reduce calorie intake and be environmentally friendly. It’s also less costly and less strenuous to prepare, as making a fruit-based dish doesn’t take a lot of time.



The word Halal is an Arabic word that translates to “lawful.” The word haram also ties into this. For practicing Muslims that follow the Qur’an, there are certain foods that are forbidden to consume, such as alcohol, animal fat, lard, pork/bacon, carnivorous animals, stock, and gelatin. Muslims cannot eat an animal that is being sacrificed in a name other than God. For a full list of Halal rules, please visit this link.



The word Kosher is a Hebrew word that translates to “appropriate.” For practicing Jews, there are certain foods that should not be consumed or combined. For example, meat and dairy products must be served separately, meat must be salted and rinsed, and blood must be removed from meat. Produce must be inspected for insects prior to consuming. For a full list of Kosher rules, please visit this link.


Connect with us:








Copyright © 2021 Zanduco Restaurant Equipment & Supplies